Pin-a-Week challenge 1: Crayons, water colors and ink

In my last post, I wrote about my Pinterest Challenge. The idea is to choose an inspiring pin per week from my Pinterest pinboards and try it out.

This weekend I’ve been busy trying out my first  pin, from Alisa Burke. Check out the original post!

Pin-a-Week – challenge 1:

Crayons with water colors:

Supplies:

Oil crayons
Water colors
  • Oil crayons
  • Water colors
  • Water
  • Paintbrush
  • Paper

Make sure you use oil crayons! Don’t use soft pastel crayons, they don’t resist the water colors!
If possible try to use a paintbrush that will absorb a lot of water. See photo for an example!

The result

First I made a drawing with crayons. I just bought myself a blanc journal to start an Art Journal. So, I used that as an inspiration for my drawing.

Crayon drawing

Then, I painted with the water colors over the whole page. I used different colors of paint. Some of the colors I mixed on my palette. Others I mixed on the page, by letting them blot together. Unfortunately, being a newby blogger, I forgot to take photos of the intermediate steps. But here is the photo of the end result.

Result after painting over the crayon drawing with water colors.

I like the result. However, I chose similar colors for the background as for the text. The text doesn’t really stand out. So, I gave it another try. Now, I only used white crayons. Just to try out if the crayon drawing stands out better against the background, when I only use white crayon. Of course, I again I forgot to take photos of the process. But here is the end result.

White crayons painted over with two water colors (blue and pink)

I think this does make the drawing stand out better than when I use different colors in my crayon drawing. I like the result. Especially, with the blending of the background colors.

However, I do remember trying this technique before, using water based ink (ecoline). Back then it didn’t seem to matter which colors I used for the crayon drawing. The water colors seem to color the crayon drawing. The drawing doesn’t stay completely white. It did when I used the ink before. Of course, I had to give it a try with the ink.

Crayons with water based ink:

  • Oil crayons
  • Water based ink
  • Water
  • Paintbrush
  • Paper

Again! Make sure you use oil crayons! Don’t use soft pastel crayons, they don’t resist the water colors! If possible try to use a paintbrush that will absorb a lot of water. See photo for an example!

The result

Again, I made a drawing using different colors of crayons. And painted over it with the water based ink. I watered the ink down, by using a very wet paintbrush. Also, by brushing a watered brush over the ink on the paper. I used two colors of ink. I blended them together on my palette, but also on the paper. By, using a clean (quit dry) brush, you can extract some of the ink, and influence the degree of blending of the colors. I love playing around with this technique.

Crayons with water based ink

As you can see, the crayon drawing seems to stand out better than with the water colors. I like this better. The white crayon actually stays white!

This is the first time, I’m working in an Art Journal. What I learned was, the ink will blend through to other pages, messing up my final result. As you can see on the left side of the crayon and ink project. Blue ink blended into my painting…
Lesson learned: tape the inside of the two pages of my journal to prevent blending of projects!

Comparison of water colors and ink in combination with crayons:

In the end, I think I like the technique best when used with the water based ink. I love how the crayon drawings stand out against the inked background. Of course, I had to do a real comparison. So I made to similar drawings on one big paper.

Water colors – Water based ink
Comparison

As you can see, the drawing stands out much better when I used ink. White stays white. On the other hand, the slight discoloring of the white by the water colors looks interesting as well. And I didn’t have real water-color paper…

So for now, I must say, I like the technique best with water based ink. But I will have to try it one more time, with real water-color paper…someday…

Ohhh, yeah, before I forget! I finished the ink drawing with a nice quote:

I did make photos of the intermediate steps of this painting. Yes, I’m learning and becoming an experienced blogger!! But it’s past midnight here. So, I’m going to have to quit with the promise to write a photo tutorial on the crayons-with-ink technique, soon!

You might also like

Pinterest Challenge
Pin-a-Week
Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

LeftWithLouie

Explore the world & get lost with louie

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

Road Essays

Travel writing and long form non-fiction narrative from the road

GrADABOUT

A collection of reflections in to the nooks and crannies of life.

mattsden101

A creative space for Poetry and Fiction

hollykooi.wordpress.com/

A collection of grievances, memories, occasional musings, and everyday happenings

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

breathofgreenair

mindfulness, relaxation, thought provoking images and poems

Fabulous 50's

If you'd like to travel with me, google "Travel Spirit Meetup"

Yona Photo

- Travel Photography - Design optimized for Desktop -

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Color Odyssey

Travel. Photography. Color. Stories.

Kitty Rose Conners

Follow as we travel around the world, exploring food and culture off the beaten path...

Meg Travels

mostly sunny adventures

Everywhere Once

An adult's guide to long-term travel

A Word in Your Ear

Stories and Photographs of my travels, Tales of friends, family, animals and my life

