How to make your own pinboard?

A while ago my coat rack came off the wall and I ended up with an empty white wall with (huge!) holes in it.  The wall was too fragile to attach any decent coat rack to it. So, I decided to make my own, wall-sized, design pinboard to showcase some of my art. Check it out, isn’t my hallway is a lot less boring!!

Supplies

  • 2 softboards (60×120 cm, per board)
  • glue
  • nails
  • primer
  • wood paint / lacquer

How to make your own (wall-sized) pin board?

Of course, I forgot to take pictures of some of the steps. But I think the tutorial is still easy to understand.

step 0

  • Measure your wall (or the space you want to put your pinboard)
  • Go to the hardware store and buy your softboard, glue, nails, primer and paint
    ( I needed two softboard of 60 by 120 cm for a good wall-sized fit on my wall)

step 1

  • Put the glue on the back of the board
  • Don’t glue the entire back of the board, space the drops of glue about 10 cm apart (horizontal and vertical). This will ensure a good fix and the opportunity to remove the board whenever you’re tired of it. (You will have to repaint the wall after removing the pinboard.)

step 2

  • Measure the spacing of the boards on the wall
  • Glue the boards to the wall
  • In my case, the boards didn’t immediately stuck to the wall. And since I’m impatient, I decided to nail the boards to the wall. I spaced the nails about 10 – 20 cm apart.
  • I think the glue was still necessary. The whole board sticks to the wall. There are no empty spaces between the board and the wall. Which is nice!

step 3

  • Prime your board!
  • This is extremely important. The softboard sucks up a lot of the primer. If you wouldn’t use primer, you would have to use a lot more of the expensive wood paint / lacquer.

step 4

  • Paint over the primer with your wood paint / lacquer

step 5

  • Use your pin board to showcase your art, photos, cards or what ever you want!
  • Admire the finished product!

I hope you like this fun idea to showcase your art! Have fun with it!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

LeftWithLouie

Explore the world & get lost with louie

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

Road Essays

Travel writing and long form non-fiction narrative from the road

GrADABOUT

A collection of reflections in to the nooks and crannies of life.

mattsden101

A creative space for Poetry and Fiction

hollykooi.wordpress.com/

A collection of grievances, memories, occasional musings, and everyday happenings

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

breathofgreenair

mindfulness, relaxation, thought provoking images and poems

Fabulous 50's

If you'd like to travel with me, google "Travel Spirit Meetup"

Yona Photo

- Travel Photography - Design optimized for Desktop -

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Color Odyssey

Travel. Photography. Color. Stories.

Kitty Rose Conners

Follow as we travel around the world, exploring food and culture off the beaten path...

Meg Travels

mostly sunny adventures

Everywhere Once

An adult's guide to long-term travel

A Word in Your Ear

Stories and Photographs of my travels, Tales of friends, family, animals and my life

