Pinterest Challenge: Polymer Clay Jewelry – Pixelated Retro Blend Cane and Stroppel Cane

Pinterest Challenge | Travel Inspire CreateThis week I finally got to do another Pinterest Challenge. I guess one-pin-a-week has proven to be a bit too much for me. However, this week I managed to do two pins in one challenge! Yes! First, I tried out  Bettina Welker’s Pixelated Retro Blend cane, a technique using an extruder. With the scraps of clay that were left over, I made Stroppel canes.

These are the original pins I used as inspiration.

Extruder cane technique | Travel Inspire Create   Stroppel cane | Travel Inspire Create

There are more examples of both techniques on my Pinterest boards. If you are interested, check out my Jewelry – polymer clay and my Jewelry – inspiration boards. Also, I found the Bettina Welker’s tutorial for the Pixelated Retro Blend cane and Alice Stroppel’s tutorial for the Stroppel cane very useful. They both did such a good job on their tutorials, I’m not even going to be bothered to make tutorials myself. I’m only going to post my end here.

My canes

I loved playing with the color combinations that are possible with both these canes. I guess the possibilities are endless! I can’t wait to try out other combinations. This time I chose two color combinations: blue-green shades and red-pink shades! According to Bettina Welker’s tutorial, you should use at least have 5 different shades of your colors. I didn’t have the time to mix colors into new shades. So, I used only four shades for both of the color combinations. I think it worked out great with just four shades. What do you think? See for yourself:

Pixelated retro color blend cane | Travel Inspire Create
Pixelated retro color blend cane
Stroppel cane | Travel Inspire Create
Stroppel cane

My jewelry

I just love all the different jewelry you can create with these canes. I made two rings, two bracelets and five necklaces! I used plain colors, but also the canes themselves, as backgrounds. Again the possibilities seem endless! And I still have at least half of each cane left. There is more jewelry to be made from these canes in the future! And I can’t wait to try out other color combinations and other bracelets, rings and pendant configurations.

Stroppel cane and Pixilated Color Blend cane | Travel Inspire Create

Blue and green pendants - Pixelated Retro Blend cane and Stroppel cane | Travel Inspire Create

Brue and green bracelet - Pixelated Retro Blend cane and Stroppel cane | Travel Inspire Create

Red and pink jewelry - Pixelated Retro Blend cane and Stroppel cane | Travel Inspire Create

Ring and bracelets - Pixelated Retro Blend cane and Stroppel cane | Travel Inspire Create

Bracelets detail - Pixelated Retro Blend cane and Stroppel cane | Travel Inspire Create

What are your experiences?

I just loved using the Pixelated Retro Blend and the Stroppel canes. I found the techniques easy to do, not too time-consuming and the end result looks great. I already got quite a few compliments on the jewelry at work and in the pub this week! (Which is half the fun of creating your own jewelry!!) I would love to see the creations of others and to know if you liked working with these canes as much as I did!

Please do share your creations and experiences in a comment! Feel free to add a link to your blog in the comment!

4 thoughts on “Pinterest Challenge: Polymer Clay Jewelry – Pixelated Retro Blend Cane and Stroppel Cane

Add yours

  1. I’m delighted that you used my techinque to make these very cool pieces. I’m glad you found it easy to follow. Thanks so much for giving it a try. Alice

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

LeftWithLouie

Explore the world & get lost with louie

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

Road Essays

Travel writing and long form non-fiction narrative from the road

GrADABOUT

A collection of reflections in to the nooks and crannies of life.

mattsden101

A creative space for Poetry and Fiction

hollykooi.wordpress.com/

A collection of grievances, memories, occasional musings, and everyday happenings

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

breathofgreenair

mindfulness, relaxation, thought provoking images and poems

Fabulous 50's

If you'd like to travel with me, google "Travel Spirit Meetup"

Yona Photo

- Travel Photography - Design optimized for Desktop -

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Color Odyssey

Travel. Photography. Color. Stories.

Kitty Rose Conners

Follow as we travel around the world, exploring food and culture off the beaten path...

Meg Travels

mostly sunny adventures

Everywhere Once

An adult's guide to long-term travel

A Word in Your Ear

Stories and Photographs of my travels, Tales of friends, family, animals and my life

