Things I wish I were able to tell my younger self

If only I were able to travel back in time,

I would whisper to the little child in me:

Annegien, just a toddler | Travel Inspire Create“No worries, everything will be fine!

You know, when your parents send you to your room, it’s not because they don’t love you anymore. It just means you have been naughty and deserve a time out. Afterwards, you will see, you can come back and play again. You are still part of the family.

And when there’s a grownups birthday party, don’t worry about having to go to bed. You’re not being send away, it’s just little children’s bed time. You still belong to the family, and tomorrow, your mom and dad will still be around to love you.”

If only I were able to travel back in time,

I would say to the young adolescent  in me:

Adolescent me | Travel Inspire Create“No worries, everything will be fine!

Stop doubting and start loving yourself. If only you could see, how many people like you for who you are; not for your friends, but simply for you. You are so busy wishing to fit in, that you fail to notice how well you actually do fit in!

Years from now, people will love catching up with you at the yearly fair and school reunions, even when the old friends you thought you where hiding behind are long gone.

Stop hiding in your little corner! Enjoy your life! It’s worth living!”

If only I were able to travel back in time,

I would tell the student in me:

Graduation day | Travel Inspire Create“No worries, everything will be fine!

Stop being so insecure. You are smart and you can do anything you put your mind to.

You don’t have to prove yourself over and over again. People like you for who you are, not for what you achieve. You don’t have to be extra good at your studies or work to be liked and appreciated.

Years from now, you will look back and realise that everything you have set your mind to, you have accomplished. And every time you moved, you made new friends and kept old friends. Don’t wait all these years, start enjoying it now!

Stop running away when you get insecure. Go for it, live your life and enjoy it to the fullest! You deserve it.

If only I were able to travel back in time,

I would remind the adult in me:

Trust your friends | Travel Inspire Create“No worries, everything will be fine!

Don’t shut down and withdraw yourself when things get though. Keep communicating! If you give your friends the chance, they will be there when times get rough. You don’t have to solve all your problems on your own.

Stop taking everything so serious. You are a champion in creating enormous problems out of minor setbacks. Talk to people about, stop the negative train of thoughts and life won’t so hard. You might even enjoy it.

Trust your instincts, believe in your friends, keep communicating and live your life!

If only I were able to travel back in time,

and tell myself “No worries, everything will be fine!”

 

This post has been written in response to this weeks Writing Challenge from the Daily PostI wish I were.

9 thoughts on “Things I wish I were able to tell my younger self

Add yours

  1. I wish my older self would communicate as well as yours is with your past self. I don’t live in the moment enough. I always look back and realize things really aren’t that bad if I just enjoy myself now and forget about the future. This is a great post.

    1. Thank you! Living in the now, just enjoying yourself and not worrying about the future, can be difficult but so rewarding when you succeed. I wish you all the best with living in the moment!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

LeftWithLouie

Explore the world & get lost with louie

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

Road Essays

Travel writing and long form non-fiction narrative from the road

GrADABOUT

A collection of reflections in to the nooks and crannies of life.

mattsden101

A creative space for Poetry and Fiction

hollykooi.wordpress.com/

A collection of grievances, memories, occasional musings, and everyday happenings

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

breathofgreenair

mindfulness, relaxation, thought provoking images and poems

Fabulous 50's

If you'd like to travel with me, google "Travel Spirit Meetup"

Yona Photo

- Travel Photography - Design optimized for Desktop -

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Color Odyssey

Travel. Photography. Color. Stories.

Kitty Rose Conners

Follow as we travel around the world, exploring food and culture off the beaten path...

Meg Travels

mostly sunny adventures

Everywhere Once

An adult's guide to long-term travel

A Word in Your Ear

Stories and Photographs of my travels, Tales of friends, family, animals and my life

